Medicine & USMLE

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL)

Leukemias and Lymphomas
  1. Acute Myelogenous Leukemia (AML)
  2. Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (APL)
  3. Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL)
  4. Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML)
  5. Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL)
  6. Hairy Cell Leukemia (HCL)
  7. Hodgkin Lymphoma
  8. Burkitt Lymphoma
  9. Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma (DLBCL)
  10. Follicular Lymphoma
  11. Mantle Cell Lymphoma
  12. Marginal Zone Lymphoma
  13. Primary CNS Lymphoma (PCNSL)
  14. Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma (ATLL)
  15. Mycosis Fungoides / Sezary Syndrome


Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia or CLL is a cancer of mature lymphocytes. Specifically, CLL affects B-cells, which express the surface markers CD20, CD23, and CD5. CLL most often occurs in the elderly, with a median age of 70 at diagnosis. Clinical findings of CLL include anemia and the presence of smudge cells on the peripheral blood smear. In some cases, CLL can transform into a more aggressive form of cancer called Diffuse Large B cell lymphoma, in a process known as the Richter Transformation.