Medicine & USMLE

Latency Stage

Freud Psychosexual Development
  1. Oral Stage
  2. Anal Stage
  3. Phallic Stage
  4. Latency Stage
  5. Genital Stage


The Latency Period is the fourth stage of Freud's Psychosexual Development, and is seen in grade-school aged children between 7 and 12 years of age. There is no erogenous zone, and children disengage from sexual impulses and focus instead on social and intellectual development.

Key Points

  • Latency Period
    • Erogenous zone: none
    • Age: grade-school age (7-12)
    • Urges: none = disengage from sexual urges
      • Focus instead on social and intellectual development