Medicine & USMLE


  1. Innate Immunity
  2. Adaptive Immunity
  3. Macrophages
  4. Neutrophils
  5. Dendritic Cells
  6. Mast Cells
  7. Eosinophils
  8. Basophils
  9. Natural Killer Cells
  10. Antigens
  11. MHC I and II
  12. Antibodies
  13. B Lymphocytes Overview
  14. B Cell Stages
  15. B-Cell Activation
  16. Plasma B-Cells
  17. Memory B-Cells
  18. T-Lymphocytes Overview
  19. T-Cell Stages
  20. Types of Activated T-Cells


Eosinophils are white blood cells of the innate immune system protecting our body from infection. They are granulocytes, meaning that they contain chemicals in little packets called granules that can be released in the setting of infection. Since these granules contain chemicals that are very toxic to parasites like worms, eosinophils play a major role in protecting our bodies from infections by parasites.

Key Points

  • Eosinophils
    • Innate immune cell
    • Granulocyte
      • Eosinophils can release granules containing chemicals toxic to parasites