Medicine & USMLE

Marginal Zone Lymphoma

Leukemias and Lymphomas
  1. Acute Myelogenous Leukemia (AML)
  2. Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (APL)
  3. Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL)
  4. Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML)
  5. Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL)
  6. Hairy Cell Leukemia (HCL)
  7. Hodgkin Lymphoma
  8. Burkitt Lymphoma
  9. Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma (DLBCL)
  10. Follicular Lymphoma
  11. Mantle Cell Lymphoma
  12. Marginal Zone Lymphoma
  13. Primary CNS Lymphoma (PCNSL)
  14. Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma (ATLL)
  15. Mycosis Fungoides / Sezary Syndrome


Marginal Zone Lymphoma is a type of low-grade lymphoma that affects B-cells of the marginal zone of lymphoid tissue. Lymphoid tissue involved can include the spleen, the lymph nodes, as well as extra-nodal mucosal lymph tissue as in the case of MALTomas. Marginal zone lymphoma is associated with a t(11;18) chromosomal translocation.  Risk factors for developing marginal zone lymphomas include diseases of chronic inflammation, such as sjogren’s syndrome or hashimoto’s thyroiditis.