Medicine & USMLE

Genital Stage

Freud Psychosexual Development
  1. Oral Stage
  2. Anal Stage
  3. Phallic Stage
  4. Latency Stage
  5. Genital Stage


The Genital Stage is the fifth and last stage of Freud's Stages of Psychosexual Development, and it is typically seen in adolescents, continuing into adulthood. The genitals are the primary erogenous zone. In this stage, people reach sexual maturation and seek sexual contact with others.

Key Points

  • Genital Stage
    • Erogenous zone: genitals
    • Age: adolescents to adulthood
    • Urges: sexual contact with others